top of page
  • Writer's pictureJustin Hill

My Experience Working With CBS Sports / CBS Sports Network Production Covering the Army vs Navy Game


Justin Hill sitting at the CBS Sports Network desk on the field at Gillete Stadium

(Photo Courtesy Justin Hill)


As a Sports Broadcasting major, I’ve often wondered what it would be like to be a part of a team that produced and covered live broadcasts for a major network. Well, I had the opportunity to find out.  I was given the opportunity to work four days with the CBS Sports / CBS Sports Network Production Team covering the Army vs Navy game at Gillette Stadium. It was an experience I will never forget. 

 

Along with fellow Dean College seniors Mikayla Krupski, Juliano Silva, and Steve Mazza, I was part of the Runner Team that assisted the Production Team. In the days leading up to the game, we were responsible for making sure equipment that was used for the pre-game show was carried to the 15-yard of the Army sideline and for putting items in place. We also helped with setup, retrieving items from the production truck, ran errands, and did anything else that was asked of us to help production get ready for game day. We had many responsibilities that required hard work, dedication, and willingness to be one of the first to arrive and last to leave each day.  

 

This opportunity allowed me to see from beginning to end what it takes to produce a live sports event for a major network. A successful production requires planning, preparation, attention to detail, and a team willing to work extremely hard to make sure everything is set up days or weeks in advance.  

 

There were two highlights of my work experience with CBS Sports / CBS Sports Network at Gillette Stadium. The first took place before game day when I sat at the CBS sports desk to help the production team test out the angles for Rick Neuheisel, Brian Jones, and Adam Zucker. This was very important for production because this test showed what everyone would see on live television.  

 

The second highlight took place on game day. I was asked to help with the pre-game show by counting down for the Army and Navy announcers so they would know when to speak during introductions. This turned out to be successful. I was proud of being asked, doing it well, to do it for a historical game, and for a major network. After the introductions, I was able to see Army and Navy planes and helicopters fly over Gillette Stadium which was one of the coolest things I have ever seen. 

 

The game was exciting, and Army defeated Navy 17-11. Army won the Commander-in-Chief Trophy for the second consecutive year and the sixth time in eight tries. It was amazing to witness firsthand the rivalry on and off the field.  

 

I am thankful to Dean College Professor John Rooke for the recommendation, and to Joann Castano, Don Sheridan, Pam Chvotkin, and Adelina Bracero  for giving me the opportunity to work with the Production Team for CBS Sports / CBS Sports Network to cover the Army vs Navy game.  


Being a part of the production of the historical rivalry game with a major network is an experience I will never forget. I learned so much and got to see firsthand the many components of sports broadcasting I learned about here at Dean. It was an amazing experience!   

220 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page