top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Longo

The Big Game Halftime Show

(Cover Photo Courtesy of rollingstone.com)




Last night’s much-anticipated Usher halftime show during the big game did not disappoint at all. The mystery in the days leading up to the big game was who Usher would bring out as guest appearances during his halftime performance. People speculated Ludacris, Alicia Keys, Lil John, and Justin Bieber. As a millennial, every nostalgic memory came rushing back to me as each song played. I remember having many Usher posters all over my room whether it was buying it from FYE or Strawberries music store in the mall or grabbing it from a J-14 magazine cutout.

 

The performance started with Usher dressed like Freddie Mercury from the band Queen, and as the performance continued, the outfits kept changing. He sang big hits such as "U Don’t Have to Call", "My Boo", and several other classics. Overall, I thought it was a wonderful show. I appreciated the guests he brought out, which ended up being Alicia Keys, Jermaine Dupri, H.E.R., Will-I-Am, and Ludacris.

 

As a 31-year-old woman watching this halftime show during the big game, I have to say they chose the right person for the job. I also loved that Usher gave a little nod to the King of Pop, Michael Jackson, by wearing a single white glove on one of his hands. Epic performance that will be remembered for a long time. The question is, who they will get to top it for next year’s big game?

70 views0 comments
bottom of page