top of page
  • Writer's pictureCJ Medeiros

Dean Students Weigh in on the Massachusetts Governor Election

On November 8th, 2022, Massachusetts will elect a new Governor to replace the outgoing Republican, Charlie Baker, who announced that he would not seek a third term. The Democrats have nominated sitting state Attorney General Maura Healey, while the Republicans nominated former State Representative and former candidate for Senate in 2018, Geoff Diehl.


Massachusetts is projected to flip back to Democrat by almost every major polling source, due to the state’s more liberal political leanings and Diehl’s more conservative nature, unlike the more moderate Charlie Baker. With the impending election, some Dean College students were asked who they would vote for in November, here’s what they had to say.



(Maura Healey D) Steven Senne/AP Photo

(Geoff Diehl R) Josh Reynolds / AP





























“Healey, because of her pro-LGBT outlook as well as being a member of the community and would be the first female Governor for Mass” -Taylor (Junior)


“I’d vote for Healey because she is a big advocate for reproductive rights.” -Daniella (Senior)


“I’m leaning toward Diehl; I agree with his economic policies, and he could help us out with the recession and inflation.” -Max (Sophomore)


“Probably Healey, Diehl doesn’t seem to have done much besides encourage anti-vaxxers.”

-Anonymous Junior


“I’m going with Diehl. I’m worried about the political climate in MA, and we can’t go too far left like some other states.” -Adam (Senior)


“I would vote for Healey. I know her and her stances better than Diehl, and she’s done a good job as Attorney General.” -Riley (Sophomore)


“You can throw me down for Healey. I’d figure that my ideals would fall under better with the Democratic candidate.” -Ben (Junior)


“I’d pick Diehl, I don’t typically vote, but I lean toward Republican values.” -Brett (Junior)


Much like the polls show, most Dean College students would prefer Maura Healey over Geoff Diehl. Healey appears to be the campus favorite, though Diehl does have a base of supporters, albeit smaller in number. In November, the people of Massachusetts will make their voices heard, but will the new Governor be Healey? Or will Diehl pull off an upset?

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page