top of page
  • Tyler Lawton

DJ Fish: How He Reeled in the DJ of the Month Award for Power 88


(Photo Courtesy of Power 88)


On November 2nd, Dylan Fisher, otherwise known as “DJ Fish”, was acquainted with the DJ of the Month Award for his excellence as a music-radio personality on Power 88, according to an Instagram post from the student-run radio station. To learn more about how he earned this amazing award, I was able to interview Fisher about his experience on the radio, and how he worked his way up to achieve excellence as an on-air personality.


When asking Fisher what being DJ of the Month meant to him, he stated that it was a sign of “recognition for my hard work and skills that I’ve built up over the past two semesters. I didn’t start with a DJ voice, but overtime while taking the school’s radio course, it helped me improve my verbal and communicative skills to become a better on-air personality”.


I also asked Fisher what resources helped him earn this respective title, and he mentioned keeping his critique sheets from his radio professor for future broadcasts. “If people just tell me what I can improve on verbally, that’s not the greatest, so I need to have it in hard-form writing. The sheets are there to help you better your voice, what you talk about on air…it all just makes for a better show each time”.


Lastly, I requested some tips that Fisher could give to any student that hopes to become DJ of the Month one day. “Don’t get down if you don’t get it the first time, the second time, or even the third time”, Fisher answers. “You have to work your way up to it…prep sheets are always a good thing to do before going into your shift, and you can have some with it! You can add some jokes in there, laugh a little bit, that’s something that I’ve worked upon”.


Catch Dylan Fisher on the radio every Sunday from 8-11 AM by tuning into 88.3 FM in your car, or by listening through the station’s website: http://www.power883.org/.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Little Taste of Italy at Chateau

Family History in Italy Compared with the ChateauRestaurant In Italy the notion of family is important, and they focus more on being together. One main way that Italian families connect closely is wit

bottom of page