top of page
  • Writer's pictureJustin Hill

My Experience Covering the Big East Tournament


New York native Justin Hill at Madison Square Garden while players are warming up before a Big East tip-off. (Photo Courtesy Justin Hill)


For the second year in a row, I was a part of the Dean College Sports Broadcasting team that had the opportunity to cover the 2024 Big East Tournament which was held in Madison Square Garden in New York City.  

 

Madison Square Garden was filled with excitement and had sellout crowds throughout the tournament.  Teams that played in the Big East Tournament were Butler, Xavier, Providence, Georgetown, Villanova, DePaul, UConn, Seton Hall, St. Johns, Creighton, and Marquette. The UConn Huskies won the Big East Tournament after beating the defending champions the Marquette Golden Eagles 73-57 on Saturday.  

 

The Big East Tournament has been held at Madison Square Garden since 1983 and on Friday. I attended the press conference where the Big East and Madison Square Garden announced the Big East Tournament will continue to be held at Madison Square Garden at least until 2032.  

 

As part of the sports media, I attended press conferences and had the chance to question some of the coaches and players during the press conferences or outside the locker rooms. I submitted articles covering each day’s games to Dean College’s newspaper, “The Dean Daily.” I also did color commentary for the Providence vs Georgetown game for a Dean College sports broadcasting team reel, and I shared it live on my personal Instagram.  

 

I was able to ask questions of several coaches and players. This included UConn’s coach Dan Hurley, Marquette’s coach Saka Smart, Providence’s coach Kim English, Georgetown’s coach, Ed Cooley, and Villanova’s coach Kyle Neptune. As part of the media, I got to see some of the emotions of the coaches and players before and after games.  

 

My favorite moment covering the games was when I had the chance to ask legendary 

basketball coach Rick Pitino a question after St. Johns beat Seton Hall to advance to their first Big East Tournament semifinal for the first time since 2000. Rick Pitino is a native New Yorker like I am and has had a remarkable coaching career. I have known about him and his reputation since I was young. To be able to ask him a question while he was surrounded by many members of the media, which I was a part of, was a special moment.  

 

It was also great to see some of the media professionals I met last year and to meet and network with new people. Catching up with Fox Sports Broadcaster, Gus Johnson, and him remembering me, and his words of encouragement were special as I hope to also have a successful sports broadcasting career.  

 

Being a part of the media for the Big East Tournament gave me the opportunity to see what professional broadcasting production does before tipoff on and off the court. I also got to see how sports reporters go about questioning coaches and players, prepare for broadcasts, and work on their articles in the press rooms.  

 

As a Sports Broadcasting major, I have learned so much about sports broadcasting through the Dean College Sports Broadcasting program. This program has provided me with an understanding of sports media and prepared me to be confident in a setting with other media professionals.  

 

I am thankful to Professor John Rooke for all he has taught me in the Dean College Sports Broadcasting program and for inviting me to cover the 2024 Big East Tournament for the second straight year. Also, thanks to John Paquette, the Senior Associate Commissioner of the Big East for the opportunity to be a part of the media and always checking in, and Kevin Ivany, Director of Sports Communications at Big East for all the media updates.  

 

To gain experience as a student by covering a major tournament like the Big East was an amazing opportunity. Also to be able to do it at the world’s most famous arena, Madison Square Garden, located in my hometown of New York City made it more special. I am grateful I had the opportunity.   

150 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page