top of page
  • Writer's pictureReed Becker

Roy and Smith Jr Earn Conference and National Recognition


Dean Football gets recognized in conference and nationally. (Photo Courtesy: Deanbulldogs.com)


FRANKLIN- Dean College senior defensive back Austin Roy has recently been named to the D3football.com Team of the Week.

Roy was all over the field in the Bulldog’s week one win versus Fitchburg State on Saturday. The Blackstone, Massachusetts native had eight tackles, four of which went for a loss of 31 yards. Roy also had three sacks that sent the Falcons back 26 yards and forced three fumbles, one that was picked up by a teammate and returned for a touchdown that put the game out of reach in the fourth quarter.

On top of the national recognition, Roy was also named the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) Defensive Player of the Week.

“When I first found out, I was shocked and of course, honored. It is always great for the work and countless hours to pay off,” Roy said. “Without the coaches and the team that I have with me, something like this would be hard to accomplish, so a lot of credit goes to them,” Roy continued.

Freshman linebacker Kevin Smith Jr. was also named the ECFC Co-Rookie of the Week. Smith had a game-best 11 tackles in his Dean debut. He also added a pass breakup to limit the Falcons passing attack.

“When I found out I won this award, I was grateful and thanked God, but I know I have to stay humble and keep working,” Smith explained. “I actually found out I won the award because my former high school linebacker coach sent me a screenshot and told me he is proud of me,” the Liberty City, Florida native continued.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page