top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarrison Soep

Senior Spotlight: Reed Becker

Photo Courtesy Reed Becker 

 

Reed Becker has accomplished many things in his four years at Dean College. He was a broadcast intern for the Cape Cod Baseball League, as well as a writer for Boston Sports Journal. Here, Becker does game recaps for the Boston Bruins and the Boston Red Sox.  

Becker knew he wanted to be a broadcaster at a young age stating, “Well I've been into sports ever since I was about 12 years old people say that when they were younger, they were more into the players. But for me, I had more interest in seeing the broadcasters and being the broadcasters and reporters, I always knew I wanted to be in sports and sports broadcasting.” 

In terms of broadcasters, Becker looked up to growing up Ian Eagle, Sam Rosen, and Michael Kay.  


Throughout his time at Dean, Becker has learned a lot of things in his four years. “I think the first and foremost is preparation and the importance of preparation, you never want to go into an interview or a game unprepared", Becker explained. He later explained a saying he lives by and that is “Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.” 

Becker says his favorite part of Dean “Writing and interviewing side of it that’s where I found my strength, I was told at a young age from one of my mentors that if you can’t write you can’t do anything in this industry”   


Looking back on the memories he made at Dean, Becker said, “Being able to intern the Cape Cod League for the past two summers, that was the best two summers of life! Through Dean covering the Big East tournament at Madison Square Garden the past two years was a blast, and also just recently helping out the East Regional at TD Garden for March Madness was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.”  

 

Reed Becker at the Big East Tournament at Madison Square Garden Courtesy of Reed Becker 

 

Another internship Becker has gotten is being a writer for the Boston Sports Journal. This season, Becker has written game recaps for the Bruins and Red Sox. The biggest thing Becker gained from both Boston Sports Journal and Cape Cod League is networking. “I gained relationships and networking," Becker explained. “You also learned the professional aspect as well you kind of learn quickly if you want to stay in it being neutral and not being a fanboy," Becker concluded. 


Now that Becker is graduating, he will miss a lot of things. “I think there is bittersweetness there is definitely a sense of excitement to be done from the academic standpoint for sure," Becker explained. "At the same time, you're going to miss the extra circulars from Dean News Network, Dean Daily, the sports broadcasting team, the people that you have been able to meet and get to know in that time," Becker continued. "The professors from John Rooke, Gregg Siebert, Casey Carter, and Vic Michaels that is what will stick with me there are people I've been able to meet, the relationships I've built with the professors, and the extra circulars for sure," Becker concluded. 

 

 

 

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page