top of page
  • Writer's pictureReed Becker

Surprise in Franklin: Dean College Makes Change at Baseball Head Coach Position

Endy Morales takes over as Dean College Baseball head coach. (Photo Courtesy: Deanbulldogs.com)


FRANKLIN- In a surprising turn of events, Dean College recently announced that Head Coach Ernie May would not be returning to the Bulldogs dugout in 2024. Dean Athletic Director George Martin announced that Endy Morales will take over as the next head coach of Dean Baseball.

“I would like to thank Coach May for his seven years of dedication to the baseball program. He has helped build a solid foundation for the program, which provides the team with an opportunity to achieve future success,” Martin stated. "I am pleased to welcome Endy Morales to Dean College as the next baseball head coach,” Martin told Deanbulldogs.com.

"Endy stood out from the beginning of the search process with his vision and enthusiasm. I am excited to see where Endy can take the program,” Martin continued to Deanbulldogs.com.

“I was shocked. It caught me off guard as I received an email one day at work that our coach wasn’t going to be back. I received the news two weeks before going back to campus,” senior first baseman Kyle Lancaster explained.

“Coach May was very professional in his approach to the game on and off the field. His 30+ years of knowledge of the game was elite and is going to be missed. He stressed what it meant to be a student-athlete and being prepared in the classroom and on the field. I wish him luck in his future endeavors,” sophomore first baseman Graham Marshall said.

"I am honored and humbled to be hired as the new head baseball coach at Dean College," Morales shared with Deanbulldogs.com.

"The Dean community is very family-oriented, and everyone involved is motivated to give our students the best college experience. The campus itself blew me away with its rich history and facilities. I am excited to bring this baseball team a new life and vision. My past experiences as a player and coach will allow me to bring the leadership and knowledge needed to build this program and take it to new heights. Many thanks to my past schools for preparing me for this moment. Lastly, thank you to our AD George Martin for allowing me to have this opportunity and be a part of the Bulldog family. Go Dawgs!” Morales concluded to Deanbulldogs.com.

Morales comes over to Dean after spending last season at Amherst College, where he worked with the pitching staff and helped with recruiting. In 2022, he was an assistant at Western New England University. Before that, Morales was a volunteer pitching coach at Elms College during the 2021 season.

Before coaching, Morales was a starting pitcher at Southern New Hampshire University. Morales posted a 3.13 ERA in 24 appearances and went 11-4. Before Southern New Hampshire University, Morales played for two years at West Virginia University, where he made six appearances during his freshman season.

Morales is a well-known name in Massachusetts. He was the number one ranked right-handed pitcher in Massachusetts for the 2015 class in high school. He also played for three seasons with the Valley Blue Sox in the Northeast Collegiate Baseball League in his hometown of Holyoke.

Morales’ credentials in baseball have certainly caught the eyes of his new players. “He’s experienced all of this before recently,” Lancaster explained. “He’s gone through the grind of a fall and college season, so he’ll be able to help us out with any problems or questions we have, especially for the younger guys,” Lancaster continued.

“At practice, Coach Morales knows what he’s talking about and how a good program is run,” sophomore infielder Tyler Giambra mentioned.

“Coming from a good baseball program at West Virginia, he knows what the higher-level guys are doing and how they practice. He’s taking those things from his time there and implementing them here,” Giambra concluded.

“I will bring every aspect from each level and apply it to our daily routines, practice plans and help form the identity of this team,” Morales said. “I believe I can help this team be routine and detail-oriented. The style of play I strive for will bring the best out of each and every player. I want to assure player development is at the top of my priority list as the skipper of this team,” Morales continued. “I strongly believe I can bring an approach that will help simplify the pitching staff's approach,” Morales explained.

“Each pitcher will be on a throwing program that includes dynamic/static warm-up, upper body dynamic, band series, throwing progression, post-throw routines, core and med ball work, and conditioning. This gives each pitcher the opportunity to be on a program which will assure they are making the strides they need to make to be in great shape. Then the game plans themselves will be designed to simplify their plan of attack. I want guys to use what they do well already and use it to the best of their ability. I don't want my guys trying to be someone they are not. Do what you do best and that will help the team be at its best. Lastly, I am big on the mental side of the game, if we can have routines in place to make sure we are locked in and can lock back in when the game speeds up. Then I believe we will have a mentally tougher staff as well,” Morales concluded.








121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page