top of page
  • Tyler Lawton

The Day in the Life of a Power 88 Director



If you ever wondered what a day in the life of a power 88 director is like, consider this an exclusive look. Some might believe that the role entails an arduous amount of work, but it actually is not as bad as it seems.


My routine during the day of a radio shift is not that different from the average college student. I start off by hauling myself out of bed, taking a shower, and brushing my teeth to start an ordinary day of classes. Once I get through all my classes, this is where the fun begins. Each afternoon, I make my way to the library to make a new social media post for the Power 88 social media.


As an assistant promotions director for Power 88, I try to make daily social media posts that talk about classic rock, sports news, and announcements to promote the radio station. The best part about being an assistant promotions director is making cool designs for each post. After I feel satisfied, I send my final product to Mikayla Krupski, the main promotions director that posts what I made onto Instagram.


When that’s done, I’m able to work on my prep sheets for my upcoming shift, which is basically a list of stories that I will talk about while I’m on the air. Most DJs like to come up with breaks on the fly, but I always prepare ahead of time to make sure I have the best radio shift possible.


Once my shift starts at 3 PM on Tuesday, I get into the station and do the best radio show that I can do. Being in the studio is my favorite part of the day, as I always have fun talking about my interests and stories on the radio. Once my shift comes to an end, I make sure to save all my talk shows on a flash drive. I mainly do this for two reasons: to make sure I have content to turn in for a grade, and also to look back on how far I have come as a DJ.


You’d think that as a director, there would be other responsibilities that I would have to attend to after my shift. However, that’s not the case! I finish the day off by going out to dinner with friends, before going back home to get a good night’s sleep.


Overall, I would say that being a director for the school’s radio station is the highlight of my college experience. Working there feels like an outlet to express yourself freely, and I feel that being a radio disc jockey is something that everyone in this school should try out. Who knows, maybe if you enjoy working in radio, you might have the chance to become a director yourself!


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page