top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarrison Soep

What Should the Boston Bruins Do with Jake DeBrusk?

Updated: Feb 12

Photo Courtesy Getty Images  

 

Jake DeBrusk is a fan favorite of the Boston Bruins. As the trade deadline approaches on March 8th however, the Bruins find themselves asking what to do with Jake DeBrusk. 

 

DeBrusk is on a two-year, $8 million contract which is set to expire after this season. Currently, he has 12 goals, 13 assists and 25 points. So, should the Bruins trade him on his expiring contract? Or should they let him go to free agency for nothing? Or could they bring him back on an extension? These are questions the Bruins need to answer.  

 

His time in Boston hasn’t been perfect. DeBrusk was a first-round draft pick and even scored the winning goal in the 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs against the Toronto Maple Leafs. Then, mid-way through the 2021-22 season, he requested a trade. He was coming off a career-worst 2020-21 season. In 41 games he only had five goals, nine assists, and 14 points that season.  

 

Last season was his best season, in which he had 27 goals, 23 assists and 50 points. He was a hero in the 2023 Winter Classic against the Pittsburgh Penguins when he scored two straight goals.  

 

This season, much like his career in Boston, has been inconsistent. In the first 31 games of the season, he started with 11 points but since Christmas, he has had 14 points  

 

Last week, DeBrusk was asked if he has optimism that something will get done. He answered by saying, “I always have optimism,” DeBrusk said. “I feel like it would be pretty depressing if I didn't have optimism that I'd be here. It's one of those things that I hope it gets done. You know, I have an agent for a reason. I've obviously been in this organization for my whole career. I feel like I know where I stand in this lineup. I feel like I know where I am with the guys in this room, and the city as well, the highs and lows." 

 

If the Bruins decide not to trade and let him walk into free agency, they can afford him. The Bruins will have $26.08m in cap space. Keep in mind they will also be looking to re-sign Jeremy Swayman. The Bruins can get a deal done in the offseason if they don’t find a trade by the deadline. We will just have to wait and see what the Bruins decide to do. 

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page