top of page

Women in the Workforce Interviews

To celebrate women in the workforce month I decided to interview multiple female faculty members here at Dean. It was a pleasure to hear all of their thoughtful responses about their careers and their stories were incredibly inspiring.

Question: What/who inspired you to work with students?

Courtney Shimer: I can’t really pinpoint an exact experience or person that inspired me to work with students. I have always, always loved working with others and learning from others. I grew into loving teaching (which is what I went to college for) and that developed into a love of working with students in any capacity. My career has been centered around working with students – from 3 year olds to college level. It is really the students I work with every day that inspire me to continue this work!


Kristen Holster: I had many wonderful teachers throughout my education, and they inspired me to want to work with students.


Alison Angelo: I have been fortunate enough to have a few very special mentors in my life who have inspired me in so many ways. Growing up I always felt that you could fall in love with any subject with the right teacher by your side. Teaching was always something I knew I wanted to do. Giving back, inspiring others and challenging my students to be innovative storytellers like my own mentors always have is what drew me to this profession. There is nothing more rewarding than watching my students grow and hone their craft.


Jo-Ann Reid: This question evokes many layers. Having emigrated from the West Indian country of Haiti in 1974, when my two older sisters, Marie, and Tamie, were just five years and five months old respectively, our parents, Gerald Medard Reid, MD and my mother, Nicole remain strongest influence in our lives. Education and direct action toward positive sociopolitical change was the model for purposeful living. My parents not only endured life under the Duvalier regimes while they were growing up, but they also utilized their well-rounded, French system of education under the strict religious models of the Jesuit priests and Carmelite nuns. Very rigid, yes but academics as the way forward set the tone in my parents were raised and of course in how they raised their three girls. My father taught his fourth-year classmates as a first-year med student. They recently celebrated their socially distanced, Jubilee anniversary. As a young man, my paternal grandfather, Charles, taught French Literature and Drama at the Sorbonne (University in Paris) before he returned to Haiti to marry.

As the first child born in America, the pressure was high. But my parents always supported our choices if we followed the strong work ethic and integrity and humble nature modeled for us in the home. As life is full of complexities, my academic interests started with a powerful passion from social justice as I wanted to become a civil rights attorney for much of my childhood into my preteen years. I always wanted to help people achieve their goals and improve their lives. I knew that journey began with self-education and the looking inward that is so critical to understanding the self. I could not assist anyone else until I figured out where I stood and what better way to plant my feet than to gratefully use what was given to me by my own parents sacrifices, support, and love.

Self-respect, compassion for others, self-improvement and performing at 200% was always emphasized. We knew from a young age that there were cross-cultural systemic obstacles. We were warned of personal mistakes we could and could not afford to make. We grew up with those talks about what it means to have healthy pride in cultural identity, cross-cultural identity, and all the ways those categories intersect. We also grew up with strict gender roles and expectations. Yet, we also learned to celebrate who we were especially in the face of so much adversity when we were apart from our parents. I wanted to be that guide for all my students. I learn so much from them and I hope that I can make a positive and well-rounded impact in their lives. My origin stories all led me right where I am meant to be today.


Question: Throughout your career what have been some of the difficulties you have experienced being a woman in the workplace?

Courtney Shimer: I have really had to advocate for myself and my skills in the workplace. As a young female, early in my career, I felt like I had to work extra hard to prove myself. I didn’t always feel that those around me took me seriously or saw the value I brought to the table. I overcompensated for this by trying to work the hardest, or stay the longest at the end of the day, or say yes to absolutely everything that came my way. That was just not a sustainable approach. I have dealt with inappropriate comments about my appearance – from both male and female colleagues. And, lastly, at a former position I was told that I would be less valued on my team if I decided to start a family because I would lose my productivity and focus. However, my male co-worker in the same stage of life was celebrated for wanting to start a family. People made assumptions about my work that weren’t based in fact but instead were based on the fact that I am a woman.


Kristen Holster: I, like many people in the workforce, have often had difficulty with work/life balance and learning how to best combine the two.


Alison Angelo: One challenge I have faced in my journey as a female in academia is that I have always looked younger than my actual age. The bias that often goes hand in hand with looking younger is that a person may not think you’re capable of the work because you aren’t as “knowledgeable” as others appear to be. The comments that were directed towards my supposed age only made me work harder in the classroom and on the stage. Even though it seems unfair, I have always been a firm believer that you should never become complacent in your career. My suggestion for anyone who has experienced the same type of bias is to stay confident, never second guess your credentials and continue training in order to strive for excellence. It will not go unnoticed (no matter who pretends it might.)


Jo-Ann Reid: The expectations to remain quiet, to not ruffle any feathers, to fall in line…those are tough. Intersectional female identity makes things even more complicated as I am dealing with being a Black, first-generation, Haitian American, Queer, Cis-Gendered Woman and I am often expected to fragment myself. The pressure to explain not “who” but rather “what” I am into easy, digestible boxes is tough and frustrating as hell. I am only one person. In college, the roles were way more rigid. I went to high school and college in the 90’s so I know it was even tougher for the generations of women and womyn before me.

Now, although gender fluidity is not a new thing or a “trending” thing (another pet peeve of a term), the so-called rules and means of expressing gender are much more our in the open Has that erased gender-based oppression, misogyny, racism, colorism, sexism, xenophobia, of course not. But we cannot deny the progress. However, this two steps forward and ten steps back world in which we currently live is not sustainable. I have hope and evidence that more often than not, the younger generation is not only aware of the systemic issues, but they act on them. Some are more willing and ready than others but that is true in any demographic. So, I would say that the difficulties I have experienced cannot be diluted down to just one identity category on a checklist or box. But neither can I and I am perfectly fine with that as we are all unique. No one is an object to be dehumanized as a “what” or a “thing” of curiosity or novelty. Asking a human being “who” they are gives then the respect of acknowledging just that—their humanity.


Question: What was your proudest moment when working with a student?


Courtney Shimer:My proudest moments have been the moments that I have witnessed a student achieve something they didn’t think possible or that was hard for them at the beginning. I love seeing students work hard to achieve their goals and I am most proud when they get there.


Kristen Holster: My proudest moment was watching the first group of sociology baccalaureate degree graduates cross the stage at commencement in 2012.


Alison Angelo: I do not think I can pinpoint my answer to just one student. I would say that my proudest moments as a professor and director are when we begin a project (such as a performance) and build it from the ground up. We rehearse 5-6 times per week for 8 weeks. The students never cease to amaze me. They are not afraid of hard work and always strive for perfection. They don’t complain about being tired, nor do they want to settle for anything less than they know they can achieve. Instead, they drill and clean and rehearse for rehearsal. There is nothing more rewarding to me than to see them shine on opening night. They know the work they put in is worth the personal and artistic growth. Those are the moments I am most proud of.


Jo-Ann Reid: A student not only succeeds with willingness, self-discipline, grit, and perseverance but gratitude for what they have and those people who helped them get to where they need to be. Transactional education is inauthentic. True scholarship means taking the successes with the failures and using all experiences as learning opportunities. When things fall apart, as they are bound to do in all our lives at some point, it takes grit to stop and acknowledge accountability. To ask: What was my part in that and how could I have done better? Not an essay thing but it is so powerful. Turning that lens inward and seeing how mistakes and failures can be opportunities to start fresh is a hard adjustment as no one wants to admit defeat. However, staying in that sense of defeat would be the failure.

Rising up, utilizing resources, and starting over? That can be the best way to go. Sometimes that is a hard thing to even hear or process. Trust me, I have been there in several facets of my own life. Perfection is a myth, yet we may still feel an internal or external pressure to embody that myth. However, I believe in true learning and self-improvement. True achievement rather than grasping for what is not truly earned. Support is everything but there must be a balance to everything in life. My students teach me about their own strengths every day. They also work hard to succeed and overcome and when they must figure out the next steps in their path. No one should have to do that alone. Not everyone has support, access, and equity. Entitlement erodes authentic education. A student who holds themselves accountable is a proud moment. When a student finds confidence and wherewithal? Amazing. Effort? Yes! Follow through to find what they want to give to the world? That what drives me as a professor and as a member of this community. I hope that I can be a part of that difference.

Question: What is something you wish you could have told yourself when you first started your professional career?

Courtney Shimer: Don’t worry so much about what other people think of you. Don’t wait for others to say what you want to say – just speak up and don’t be afraid of your own voice. Advocate more for yourself and be confident in the value you bring to a team. It is ok to fail – as long as you learn from your failure and grow from it.


Kristen Holster: To always keep asking questions.


Alison Angelo: If I could go back and tell myself anything, it would be to not compare myself to anyone else. In this business- it is easier said than done. We are all unique in our own ways and we should celebrate our differences. Theatre by nature is a collaborative art form and wouldn’t it be even more fitting to join forces, share talents and create something beautiful together? Egos need to be put aside or they will only get in the way

Jo-Ann Reid: Never stifle your voice or give up your power for someone else’s benefit or comfort. You work so hard! Never give that up for anyone. Sometimes you must make a little noise. Allies can be found in the most unexpected of places. Sometimes you must ROAR! Fourteen hours at the work laptop are not normal. I am still learning that one. And sleep is critical.

Question: What is some advice you would give to students before they start their future careers?

Courtney Shimer: Be open to every possibility and don’t underestimate yourself. Believe in your voice and use it. Take every opportunity that comes your way, even it is not your dream job, because you never know what connections you will make or discoveries that will happen along the way. And, don’t be afraid to dig in and do the work!


Kristen Holster: To take advantage of every opportunity and keep track of what you do not like about each working environment. Once you have identified what you do not like, it makes it easier to find the position that has everything you do like.


Alison Angelo: If I could give my students any advice moving forward, it would be that who you are as a person is who you are in every aspect of your life. Be kind, be humble and be hungry. Do your research always and don’t be afraid of adventure-its where you grow the most!


Jo-Ann Reid: Stay firm in your beliefs. Be proud of your success and learn from your challenges with integrity. Never coast. Education is cool. No one is going to do the work for you. Do not wait. Try new things. Self-care. Network as soon as you can. Peer-to-peer mentorship is critical. Skip the drama. Spend time with those who believe in you. Use your resources. Do not wait to succeed. Make academic and potential career connections early and often. Appreciate your electives. Think outside the box. Sleep now or you will regret it later.


Question: What is something that could be done to help empower women in the workplace?

Courtney Shimer: Always allow space at the table and time for the conversation to happen. I think it is important to look at company culture to make sure that there are equitable opportunities for all employees. Representation matters as well so ensuring gender diversity in leadership positions.


Kristen Holster: One thing we have learned from our experience of the past year is that workplace flexibility is key. Many employers are discovering that they must continue to recognize the need for workplace location and schedule flexibility as we move forward. This flexibility could empower the entire workforce.


Alison Angelo: The simple act of hiring more women as leaders in the workplace would definitely be something that would empower women!


Jo-Ann Reid: Equitable pay. Real and sustainable resources. Can the lip service. Enough with the mansplaining. Let us work together! Women must support women if we expect the same from everyone else!


(Image from National Museum of American History)

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page