top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarrison Soep

WrestleMania XL Predictions

Updated: Apr 4

Photo Courtesy WrestleZone 

It is that time of year WrestleMania, or the “Super Bowl of Wrestling” as my dad likes to call it. This year I’m going to break down every match and give my predictions. I wanted to keep the predictions short and sweet. There are lots of matches on the card so let's not waste any time. 

 

 


Women’s World Championship Rhea Ripley (C) vs. Becky Lynch 

Rhea Ripley has been a dominant champion for over a year now. I don’t see Rhea dropping the belt here because WWE wants longer title reigns.  I think that this match is going to be great as both women are very talented in the ring. Rhea Ripley is going to retain the title, but hopefully, this will set up more matches between the two down the line. 

WINNER: Rhea Ripley 

 

 


Bianca Belair, Jade Cargill, and Naomi vs. Damage CTRL 

Of all the matches on the card, this is the most predictable match on the show. Cargill, Belair, and Naomi will pick up the win. This will be Jade Cargill’s WrestleMania debut and I think she will put on a show alongside Belair and Naomi.   

WINNERS: Jade Cargill, Naomi, Bianca Belair  

 



Intercontinental Championship Gunther (C) vs. Sami Zayn 

I'm sure these two will go out there and put on an incredible match, and I have Gunther retaining the title at WrestleMania. My question is when does this reign end for Gunther? Gunther has held the title for so long and I don’t know when he will drop it, but it will not be at Mania.  

WINNER:  Gunther   

 



WWE Women’s Champion IYO Sky (C) vs. Bayley 

Bayley’s face run has been pretty good I would say. I think the end goal is Bayley winning the Women’s Championship from IYO Sky. If IYO wins it would not shock me if it was due to outside interference. I am going to go with Bayley just because not only did she win the Royal Rumble, but the story writes itself with her becoming the new champ. 

WINNER: Bayley 

 

 


Rey Mysterio and Dragon Lee vs. Santos Escobar and Dominik Mysterio 

I thought we would see Rey Mysterio vs Santos Escobar one on one. Instead on an episode of Smackdown, Rey came out with the LWO and challenged Santos and Dominik to a tag team match with the partner of his choosing. That partner was the newest member of the LWO, Dragon Lee. I have Santos Escobar and Dominik Mysterio. I do think Carlito will end up costing Rey Mysterio and Dragon Lee.  

WINNER: Santos Escobar and Dominik Mysterio 

 



Bobby Lashley & The Street Profits vs. Final Testament (Six-Man Tag Team Philadelphia Street Fight) 

This feud hasn’t been good. These two teams have been feuding since early February and I hope this feud comes to an end after Mania. I have Lashley and The Street Profits. Last year Lashley wasn’t on the card for Mania, as he won the Andre the Giant Battle Royal on Smackdown. The only thing I am excited about is the stipulation as its going to be a Philadelphia street fight. Hopefully it comes to an end and that is why I believe Bobby Lashley and The Street Profits win at Mania.  

WINNERS: Bobby Lashley and The Street Profits 

 



Jey Uso vs. Jimmy Uso 

Brother vs Brother, Yeet or No Yeet. The seed was planted for their match at WrestleMania less than a year ago when Jimmy cost Jey his match at Summer Slam for the Universal Championship.  I think this will be a great match. I am hoping this will be the best brother vs brother match we’ve seen in WWE. I have Jey winning this one.  

WINNER:  Jey Uso  

 

 

 

Undisputed WWE Tag Team Championship Six-Pack Tag Team Ladder Match 

As a big Miz fan, I’m going with The Miz and R-Truth. It’s going to be chaotic especially with 12 participants in this match. Usually with these tag team matches; it’s always been a triple threat tag team match or fatal four way. This match is going to be a fun and chaotic match to say the least.  

WINNERS: Awesome Truth (The Miz and R-Truth)  

 

 

 

LA Knight vs. AJ Styles 

 This is easily LA Knight’s biggest match. Last year, he was snubbed from the Mania card and this year he is taking on AJ Styles. I am kind of surprised WWE has not put a stipulation for this match. YEAH. If they want to build up LA Knight for a US title opportunity, he needs this win here. I'm going to go with LA Knight with everybody L A KNIGHT YEAH.  

WINNER: LA Knight  

 

 

  

United States Championship Logan Paul (C) vs. Randy Orton vs Kevin Owens 

A lot of people thought it would be a singles match between Logan Paul vs Randy Orton. However, Paul’s feud with Kevin Owens was still going on, and so we have a triple threat match. Logan Paul is so talented, so I am going with Paul, and it wouldn't shock me if he held the US title until Summer slam.  

WINNER: Logan Paul  

 

 

 

World Heavyweight Championship: Seth “Freakin” Rollins vs. Drew McIntyre 

This match feels like background noise as Seth Rollins is in the main event of night one teaming with Cody Rhodes to take on The Rock and Roman Reigns. I think Drew is going to win this match. He finally gets his moment in front of an actual crowd. Drew’s work recently has been the best stuff he has done in years. Does Damien Priest cash in his money in the bank? Maybe? I don’t think it will happen. I got Drew winning here and becoming the new World Heavyweight Champion. 

WINNER: Drew McIntyre  

 


 

The Rock & Roman Reigns vs. Cody Rhodes & Seth “Freakin” Rollins  

The biggest tag team match in the history of WWE. This might surprise some people but in the main event of WrestleMania XL Night One, I have Rock and Roman winning. I think you need the outside interference in the main event of night two. If Cody and Seth win, I have no problem with it either way.  

WINNERS: The Rock and Roman Reigns  

 


 

WWE Undisputed WWE Universal Championship Roman Reigns (C) vs. Cody Rhodes 

Cody Rhodes wins. He needs to finish his story. There is a scenario where Roman could win. However, I think Cody will become the new champion and finally finish his story! These two had an amazing match at last year's Mania. This match could be the greatest WrestleMania main event of all time. It will depend on the outcome of night one. This match will be something we will never forget. That is why Cody Rhodes will become the new champion to close out WrestleMania XL. 

 WINNER: Cody Rhodes  

 




BONUS TOPICS! 

The Match I’m Looking Forward To The Most 

Roman Reigns vs Cody Rhodes  

 

Longest Match 

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson & Roman Reigns vs. Cody Rhodes & Seth “Freakin” Rollins 


Excitement Level on a Scale of 1-10 (1 being low, 10 being high) 

10. I think this show is going to be a fun one. Lots of big matches on this card. WrestleMania is my favorite show of the year because of how big the show is.  If it is anything like the previous WrestleMania’s we are in for an all-time classic.  

 

Have an opposing viewpoint to this opinion?  Let us know.  All views are welcome.  Send your thoughts to our Editorial Staff – Editor Dylan Hicks dhicks@student.dean.edu or Dean Daily Faculty Advisor, Professor John Rooke jrooke@dean.edu   

 

159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page