top of page
  • Writer's pictureReed Becker

EXCLUSIVE: May Eisenstadt Speaks Out After Exit from Dean College Dining Center





May Eisenstadt was relieved of her duties at the Dean College dining hall, causing an uproar from students. (Photo Courtesy: May Eisenstadt)


May Eisenstadt has spoken out for the first time since the surprising news was announced that she was recently let go by Aramark at the Dean College Dining Hall, leaving some students in shock.

  “First and foremost, I want to say that I am sorry that I had to leave so abruptly. Let’s just say that life can throw you a curveball every once in a while, and all you can do is get back up at the plate and steady yourself to take another swing,” Eisenstadt said. “Dean College has had a great impact on my life. I worked at the dining center for the past eight-plus years, but my history at Dean goes back to 1991. The first home I bought was only a couple of blocks away. I often strolled my children around campus and even would go to the “old” dining center. Two of my children would later graduate from Dean,” Eisenstadt continued. “I watched the college grow and thrive over the years and it’s all because of the great community at Dean. Students being number one, faculty and staff who are committed to excellence and kindness,” Eisenstadt mentioned.

  “It is hard to put into words the impact the students have had on me, and I will always love you all. I will keep a piece of you in my heart forever. I will also continue to stay in touch on our social media world and hope to see everyone happy and well. Also, a huge thank you from the bottom of my heart for the outpouring of kind words and support… it has been a real comfort to me,” Eisenstadt talked about. “I will finish by quoting a couple of the mottos at Dean… “never settle”, and “Don’t give up”. I will never forget you all and thank you for all the joy you’ve brought me for so many years,” Eisenstadt concluded.

  Many Dean students have not taken kindly to this unexpected news. “May was the sweetest and happiest person on this campus,” senior Mikayla Krupski said. “Seeing her ear-to-ear smile and hearing her shout my name with pure unfiltered excitement every time I stepped into her presence was one of the only good things about the dining hall. This woman kept the joy on this campus alive and I have never, ever heard a bad thing about her. The fact that she was released is a complete outrage,” Krupski concluded.

  The outcry didn’t stop there as this announcement touched a lot of other students’ emotions. “She made it worth going to the dining hall, considering how bad the food was,” sophomore Josh Barbara said. “They got rid of the best employee there as she made you feel like you were at home and cared about you,” Barbara continued. “If anyone deserved to get fired it was Aramark themselves,” Barbara concluded.

  Barbara went on to say that there have been multiple times when he has been given either raw hamburgers or chicken still pink on the inside. “It is almost as if they don’t care about the quality of the food,” Barbara said.

  “May was a person from day one who made my adjustment that much easier for me,” junior Owen Brine said, who transferred to Dean last year after taking a gap year in 2021. “Immediately she made an effort to remember my name, ask me about specific activities or events I would be a part of, or just simply ask and listen about my day and how I am. I am grateful for May making me feel so comfortable and seen through her time here,” Brine continued. “The magic sauce that May had was her genuineness; she was special because you could feel how much she loves this community. Ms. May was a staple for me here, she made my day better and she will be missed,” Brine concluded.

  “Whenever I would have a rough day and go to the dining hall, she would always bring a smile to my face and make my day better,” senior Jordan Stroud said. “She was one of the faculty I would consider that helped students’ mental health, including myself,” Stroud continued.

Aramark General Manager Ryan Dooley had no comment when approached for a statement on May’s departure from Aramark, as well as the Dean students’ concerns about the food quality.

When we reached out to Dean College President Ken Elmore for comment, Jennifer Kelly, the Vice President of Marketing and Communications to President Elmore, explained that the decision was made strictly by Aramark and that Dean College is not involved in any staffing situations at the dining hall.

“Dean Hospitality strives to offer a diverse selection of high-quality food. If students encounter any issues with their dining experience, we urge them to inform a staff member promptly. They are dedicated to addressing and resolving any concerns immediately,” Kelly replied regarding students’ concerns about the food quality at the dining hall.

Another hot topic that has caused some frustration among Dean students is that the grill in the dining hall burned down on February 11th due to an electrical grease fire.

“The grill burning down has really limited the food options considering what came from there, whether it was the burgers, grilled chicken, French fries, or specialty items like hot dogs,” Barbara explained.

Aramark recently brought in a small temporary grill to handle making hamburgers and grilled chicken, among other food items including French fries.

“The replacement grill was ordered immediately, and it is a two-week to four-week turnaround. The new grill is scheduled to be installed in the next 10-15 days,” Kelly explained.

  The Dean students will miss May’s presence at the dining hall going forward, while Aramark has concerns to address about the quality of the food served.

900 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page