top of page
  • Lucas Ferreira

Student-Athlete to Student-Coach


Photo Courtesy of dean bulldogs.com















This time last year Deane Henderson was leading the Dean Bulldogs’ scout defense. Now he’s the Defensive Quality Control Coach sending in the signals to the defense on gameday.

Going from player to coach at such a young point in one’s life is not the most common experience. It takes a special amount of character and discipline to do it. How did this come to be?


“I was working with Coach Adam Robinson a lot because he was my boss as a Community Advisor. So, I approached him with the idea of coaching. There were only three people on staff at the time, and I knew I wanted to help coach as opposed to playing. Coach Murphy came in, and I thought I would just be like an equipment manager. We really clicked off the bat. He allowed me to be on the staff and has taught me so much. He has given me a wonderful opportunity, and I’m extremely grateful for it.”


Henderson knew this time last year that he would have to change the following year. Football wasn’t enjoyable. He had to focus on roles he would feel he was helping in. He found taking leadership in the scout defense to better prepare the Bulldog offense to be the way to make his impact. This led him into the coaching box.


“The only way I could be at my best was to know everything. We got to a point in the season where I knew I wouldn’t play. I still loved football, but it was no longer enjoyable to me. Taking leadership of that scout defense was the best way for me to help my team and prepare myself for coaching,” stated Henderson.


Many would find a transition like this hard. Many student athletes are the same age if not older than Henderson. Many would think this would lead to players not listening to or believing in Henderson. This isn’t the case with the Bulldogs.


“I don’t go out there and act like I’m Nick Saban. I’ve worked very closely with Coach Murphy. I’ve known the defense longer than any of the players. We all have the same goals in mind. I haven’t changed who I am or acted any differently. I just continue to build relationships with the guys I played with and the new guys as well.”


Henderson will be calling the defensive signals for the Bulldogs again this weekend, this time against Castleton University. Kickoff is set for 5:00 in Castleton, VT this Saturday, October 1st.

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page