top of page

Student Spotlight: Talkin’ Tunes with Em’ and M

Updated: Sep 27, 2021

Talkin’ Tunes with Em’ and M is a podcast created and produced by Emily Wallace and myself here at Dean College. Talkin’ Tunes was born during October 2020 as a result of quarantine boredom. Since then, the podcast has received 866 total listeners and reached people in 22 countries outside of the United States.



Emily and I share a passion for music and pop culture and have bonded over our shared interests since becoming friends in 2018. We both are huge fans of Harry Styles, Taylor Swift, and One Direction. While these artists are often featured in our podcast episodes, we discuss and review the latest music releases along with talking about our own personal concert experiences. The show is for music lovers of any kind from pop to country to 80's rock. When the podcast first began, the world was still figuring out how to respond to the pandemic. The very first episode of Talkin’ Tunes with Em’ and M highlighted virtual concerts and reminisced about our very last concerts before the world shut down. Now, in season two, Emily and I are excited to be able to discuss in-person events and concerts as the world is slowly working its way back to normal.

Emily Wallace, a communications major, and business minor is 21 years old from

Shrewsbury, Massachusetts. “I love Talkin' Tunes because it allows me to express my passions in another form of communication. It is incredible to grow an audience talking about something I love and seeing others love it as well. It is a great resume builder, and I am happy to do it with my best friend”. Wallace chose Dean College because it was close to home and offered the possibility to intern with the Kraft Group and the New England Patriots. She found that her interests were tailored toward audio production and marketing/media sales, and Dean felt like home as soon as she stepped on campus. After graduation, Emily hopes to pursue a form of digital communications whether that be marketing, social media, media sales, or video/audio production.

I am a 21-year-old communications major from Long Island, New York. I chose Dean College because of the distance from home and the opportunities available within the program. Talkin’ Tunes is the highlight of my week. I enjoy getting to practice my audio production skills and talk about my passions. It’s a plus that I get to do it with my best friend. After college, I hope to enter a graduate program for broadcast journalism and be a news anchor in the next ten to fifteen years.

Season one featured twenty-eight episodes, and we have never missed a week. The season one finale was our most popular episode with 58 total plays. The episode premiered on April 30, 2021, at the very tail end of our junior year. In juxtaposition from episode one where we were reminiscing about the past, episode twenty-eight Emily and I discuss the future of podcasting, concerts, and what’s next for us in our college career. Season two premiered on September 17th, 2021. Episode one, “Fashion Week Fiasco” focusses on New York Fashion Week, the MTV Video Music Awards, and this year’s Met Gala.

Now in our senior year, Emily and I are excited for the future ahead and what’s to come next in our careers. Talkin’ Tunes with Em’ and M releases new

episodes every Friday at 10:30am and can be found on Apple Music, Anchor.fm, iHeartPodcasts, and Spotify.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page