top of page
  • jrooke18

The Cross Country Team at Dean College


Photo Courtesy of deanbulldogs.com











Some people start their day with a wake-up run, breakfast, and straight to school or work. Running has never been a sport that people enjoy, but to me running is a passion. Dean College has started its second year of Cross Country, which is coached by Coach Cabral, the head coach for the Men's Basketball team. So far, our year has been off to great success and the team is determined to win and succeed. We have already had two meets that were held off-campus in other states. Our first meet was held in Vermont on Saturday, September 10th at 11:00 am and the second meet was held on Friday, September 16th at 4:30 pm in New London, Connecticut.


Our meets have been traveling, and we have had great success with them. Our meets are held once a week, but they are worked up to and trained each time we come together as a team. We have practices Monday through Friday at 3:30 pm every day, so that we can attend our meets on Saturday being well prepared and in shape to defeat the other team. We even run on our own time to make sure that we are in shape and well prepared to defeat the other side. The team makes it an environment that everyone can feel comfortable and enjoy, and the team can work together as one and build stronger every time.


When other students see each other on campus, they can greet each other with friendly gestures. There have been lots of friends made through being on the team and created stronger trust, guidance, and support with each other, which has made the team enjoyable and exciting to come together again when we have practices and meets. This is my second year of cross country, and I am proud to announce that I was able to move up and be placed as the head Women’s Team Captain this year. I have never run cross country since I started at Dean, and if I am being honest, it has been the best thing that has ever happened to me at that school. I do not know what I would have done without it.


Cross Country has taught me so many amazing things and given me such an amazing opportunity at this school. Cross Country was the reason I stayed at Dean when I thought that I was going to transfer schools, and I will forever be thankful I stayed because of this amazing team and sport.


Cross-country interviews:


Runner 1 -

Name: Lexi Igler

Year: Junior

Major: Exercise science

Question 1: What do you think about when you are running?

“Running helps relieve stress as I like to be deep in thoughts about the team’s progress and ways to succeed in the future. I want to be a good runner as a good team player.”

Question 2: What do you think about when you need to distract your mind when you are hurting during your race?

“When I’m hurting during a race, I try to think about the finish line or my end goal for the season. I remember how important clocking in will help the stats and the team so we can more forward together.”

Question 3: Why do you run cross country?

“I always ask myself this question when things get tough, but I tell myself all the time that the community is worth it because I love the team and the work that is being put into. It gives me a sense of leadership and making strong connections with my teammates.”


Runner 2 -

Name: Emma Cosmos

Year: Sophomore

Major: Early Childhood Education


Question 1: What do you think about when you are running?

“What I think about while I run is just try and cross the finish line and focus and this process makes me feel relaxed and calm while looking around the beautiful location that we all run through.”


Question 2: What do you think about when you need to distract your mind when you are hurting during your race?

“What I think about when I am hurt is try and not think about the problem and try and do my best. Follow the runners in front of me and their movement to try and cross the finish line.”


Question 3: Why do you run cross country?

“Why I run cross country is because I wanted to stay in shape in college. I also wanted to work on my pacing. I did track in Highschool, and I did not want my running career to end because I fell in love with the sport. I also wanted meet new friends.”



Runner 3 -

Name: Michael Korizis

Year: Sophomore

Major: Sports management


Question 1: what do you think about when you are running?

“I listen to Taylor Swift songs to match the energy when I run because it pumps me up and makes the time more enjoyable.”

Question 2: What do you think about when you need to distract your mind when you are hurting during your race?

“What I think about when I need to distract my mind when I am hurting during races is that it’s just that I got this and try your best.”


Question 3: Why do you run cross country?

“I run cross country to stay in shape and make friends.”


Runner 4 -

Name: Sebastian Marsalese

Year: Sophomore

Major: History


Question 1: What do you think about when you are running?

“I don’t really think about much of anything when I am running, since I am usually in “the zone” and just focus on myself and nothing else around me. But sometimes I think about why I am running in the first place and how good I am going to feel when I am finished.”


Question 2: What do you think about when you need to distract your mind when you are hurting during your race?

“When I begin to hurt during a race, I think about setting small goals for myself so that I can keep myself going. I think about getting to the next hill that I have to climb over, get to the next turn, get to the next mile/kilometer point, and most importantly get to the finish line! Additionally, I track all my races using my Apple Watch, so every now and then I check my watch for the distance that I have traveled and try to encourage myself that I only have a set distance to go and tell myself that I can complete this race.”


Question 3: Why do you run cross country?

“I run cross country because I think that it is a fun and social sport! I know that it also helps me stay physically active and keeps me in great shape. A more personal reason as to why I run cross country is because I take this after my father. My father was an exceptional marathon runner in his youth and when he told me about all his wonderful and amazing experiences with running, I became incredibly inspired by him and decided that I wanted to continue the tradition.”

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page